Leave a comment

TV Review: Arrow: Season 1 – Darkness On The Edge of Town

By: Kyle Shultz

Arrow Title Card

“Darkness on the Edge of Town” was certainly a very exciting episode. It was definitely very comic booky as well, with the addition of the whole “Earthquake device” that is supposed to level The Glades. For a show based on a comic book character set in a realistic tone, they sure did come up with the evil scheme for The Dark Archer to be very unrealistic. It’s up there with Chris Nolan’s choice behind the Microwave Emitter in “Batman Begins”, but hey, it does make for good storytelling, so I can’t complain too much. This was a great episode leading to the season finale, which is crazy to think that it is already almost here. I’m actually excited about how they’re finally exploring the Dinah/Ollie romance situation, and with Tommy looking into the window witnessing it going on after Oliver telling him that he won’t go after Dinah is going to for sure bring something exciting to what’s left of the friendship between Oliver & Tommy. From the promo for the season finale, and judging by Tommy discovering his Dad’s secret, I’m hoping we see Tommy put on the suit or start to train under his father.

Arrow interrogates Moira

One thing in this episode that got me was how they used Moira into spilling the beans on “The Undertaking” to Oliver without him as Arrow. When that scene first happened; I had no idea it would be Diggle, I thought it was going to be The Dark Archer, Malcolm Merlyn the whole time. It was very clever writing on their part. Speaking of Malcolm Merlyn, the fight scene at the end. Not only was it a really well choreographed & intense fight, but the ending reveal of Malcolm discovering that Oliver is Arrow & the look on his face when he discovered that was priceless. Malcolm had the “Oh god, what have I done?” look on him. I can’t wait to see the finale, but I don’t want it to be here at the same time. One thing I hate the most about this episode is the death of Yao Fei. I yelled “NOOOOO!!” at the same time Oliver did in the flashback. I can just see some vengeance happening, & it’ll be exciting I’m sure.

Sexual Tension Anyone

I honestly cannot believe the first season of “Arrow” is almost over, & that it’s renewed for a second season! Obviously it was going to be renewed, I saw it coming since the pilot. One thing is for sure; I cannot wait for the second season to premiere already. One thing I’m hoping we see next season is Roy joining Oliver in his crusade for justice. Hopefully I’ll be back to review episodes in season two of Arrow, if not; I’m sure Adam will have a nice spot for me somewhere on here. I’m thrilled to be a part of the team though.

Leave a Reply

