Leave a comment

TV Review: Arrow: Season 2 – “Crucible”

By: Adam Basciano

Arrow Title Card 2

“Oliver discovers a man who goes by the name “The Mayor” is bringing illegal guns in to The Glades, so Oliver sponsors a “Cash for Guns” event to help clean up the city. Unfortunately, The Mayor crashes the event with his gang and seriously injures Sin. The Canary is furious when she learns her friend is in the hospital and sets out for revenge. Meanwhile, Felicity stuns Oliver with a bit of information about the Canary, Donner asks Laurel to dinner, and Diggle reconnects with an old friend.”

There were aspects of this episode I absolutely loved, and aspects I particularly loathed. Let’s deal with the bad first shall we.  The villain of the episode. “The Mayor.” Good lord is that the stupidest most generic name I’ve ever heard for a villain.  It didn’t help that he felt like a Smallville “Freak of the Week,” minus superpowers.  I don’t buy that Sin and Roy suddenly have this bond, when the first time they met a few episodes back, it seemed as though they couldn’t stand each other. It just felt a little too forced and convenient for me.  I know in my last review I said I didn’t like where the writers were taking Laurel, and it hasn’t gotten any better. In order not to rehash what I said last time, I’ll just say this; They’ve turned a successful productive adult character, into the stereotypical WB/CW teenage female character.

Arrow - Crucible

My favourite parts of the episode pretty much all involve Oliver and Sara.  Everything from his shock that she was alive and him trying to convince her to see her family.  Loved the fight sequences where Arrow and Black Canary TAG-TEAM The Mayor and his goons.  I know that the fight choreographers on this show are good at what they do, but damn that was one good fight scene!  I enjoyed the moment when the two heroes switched weapons.  It showed a bit of fighting versatility.  I knew Sebastian Blood would end up being the villain, but I didn’t expect the reveal so fast. Kudos to the “Arrow” production team for not wasting the viewers time.  Although, the “Brother Blood” mask did have a whole Scarecrow vibe to it, not that I’m the least bit surprised!

The next episode is “League of Assassins.”  Personally, I consider it to be the best episode of the entire series! We’ll have to stay tuned to see what Kyle’s opinion on the matter is.

Leave a Reply

