Leave a comment

BATMAN (1989) 25th Anniversary!

By: Adam Basciano

Batman 1989

25 years ago today, on June 23, 1989, Warner Brothers released “BATMAN.” The film was the first serious and dark live action depiction of the character on the big screen. It starred Michael Keaton as Bruce Wayne/Batman, and featured Jack Nicholson as his enemy, Jack Napier/The Joker.  I have a special place in my heart for this one.  It is the first movie I remember seeing in theatres when I was six years old with my mother. It’s a wonderful memory, which I cherish. Up to this point, I had seen re-runs of the Batman (1966) live action television series. When I saw the 1989 film, I was transfixed on what I had seen.  It really captured my imagination.  I was gripped by Batman fever, and it hasn’t let up ever. Without me seeing that film at such a tender age, the website you’re reading would’ve never came to be.  To commemorate this anniversary, give a listen to the commentary podcast Sam & I recorded next time you watch the film. Hoe you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

