Leave a comment

Teen Titans Headed To Live Action TV On TNT!

By: Adam Basciano

TNT_logo_2008

DC Entertainment is on a mission to take over live action television. Having just announced that a “Supergirl” television series is on the way, now comes word that TNT is poised to green light another live action series based on DC Entertainment characters, specifically the superhero group the Teen Titans.  Referred to as “Titans.” “Titans revolves around the eponymous group of young Super Heroes-to-be from the DC Universe. The action series centers on Dick Grayson (probably best known for his alter ego as Robin), who emerges from the shadow of Batman to become Nightwing, the leader of a fearless band of new Super Heroes including Starfire, Raven and many others.” The team was originally created in 1964, and featured many “sidekick” characters who break away from their mentors to be heroes in their own right.  The book has had many memorable creators and stories throughout the decades, as well as a widely popular animated series in “Young Justice.” So I think these characters, and this team, can make compelling television.

Teen Titans group pic

I am excited by this news.  I like the characters, and I know TNT can produce quality entertainment.  One need look no further than “Falling Skies” to know that.  However, I am a little scared quite frankly. The reason for my fear, is the creative team behind the scenes.  That team includes Akiva Goldsman and Marc Haimes.  Now I have no idea who Marc Haimes is, but Akiva Goldsman’s name certainly rings alarm bells in my head.  He’s one of the men who ruined my childhood by writing that atrocity known as “Batman & Robin” (1997), along with Joel “Made A Damn 2 Hour Toy Commercial” Schumacher, and starring George “Bobble Head” Clooney. Despite my absolute disdain for that film, there’s no denying that Akiva Goldsman is an Academy Award winning screenwriter.  He won for “A Beautiful Mind”, and has written films I’ve really enjoyed including, “I-Robot”, “I Am Legend”, & “The DaVinci Code.” So I am willing to give this the benefit of the doubt, and hope that this is the Akiva Goldsman that has come to play when creating “Titans.”

(Source: Deadline)

Leave a Reply

