Leave a comment

Power Rangers Film To Be Mature Yet Playful + Ron Pearlman Pushing For Hellboy III!

By: Adam Basciano

Power Rangers Movie Logo

With a script in place a recently named director, and a newly minted release date, pre production work is under way on the Power Rangers reboot film. The question of what type of tone we can expect from the film still remains, and director Dean Israelite has the answer. “It needs to be completely playful, and it needs to be really fun and funny. But like Project Almanac, I hope it’s going to feel very grounded at the same time, and very contemporary and have a real edge to it, and a real gut to it. So I think it’s going to be a fun, joyful [movie] but one that feels completely grounded in a real world, with real characters going through real things.” So essentially they are striving for a tone similar to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, which would be perfect for the Power Rangers.

Hellboy

One comic book film franchise not produced by Marvel or DC, that I absolutely love is Hellboy.  Both Hellboy & Hellboy II: The Golden Army are fantastic films. I’m a bit frustrated that the third one has yet to be made, and I’m eager to see it.  So too is the films star Ron Pearlman. He started a push on social media to show support for a third Hellboy film. This call to arms has gotten a lot of support from fans.  Here’s what the actor said on the matter; “I’ve been talking about this now for a couple of years, every opportunity I’ve got and I don’t know what prompted me to put it out there on Twitter the other day. But the response has been pretty dramatic. It’s very heartwarming. People should definitely take notice – the people who care about fanbases and stuff like that. After all, those are the guys who make what we do possible. I really, I’m just completely overwhelmed and thank you for your help. I know you caught on to what I was doing and actually enhanced it.” As for the main reason why the actor is so keen on returning to the horns and hand of doom; “The only reason I’m obsessed with making Hellboy III is because it was always meant to be a trilogy. At the end of III, the story should conclude. I’m not for open ended franchises. I’m just one for if something was meant to be done in three acts, you can’t stop at the end of the second. That’s like blue balls, you know?” Here’s hoping fan support and Guillermo Del Toro’s good relationship with Legendary Pictures, gets Hellboy III made.

(Sources: IGN, Comicbook.com)

Leave a Reply

